Sympathy


Here is a sympathy card that I recently made. These are tough to do, and I don’t really have a whole lot of elegant options in my stash of Cricut cartridges/stamps/etc. I’d rather do cute, but cute just doesn’t fly in these situations.
Sympathy Card
 I used paper that was already flocked from DCWV. I stamped a tree onto some cardstock, embossing it with clear to give it a bit more depth. Using a Martha Stewart edge puncher, I created the doily lace border for the tree and sentiment. This was a bit difficult because I don’t have the ‘punch around the page’ version. To hide the flubbies on the corner, I used flowers, with little gems for their centers. 😉 the big flower also covers up a sizeable ink smear. oops. 🙂
 
The cardstock that I used for the base ended up cracking when I folded it for the main card, so I used some blue ribbon along the crease to cover up the white core that showed. I’m not entirely convinced that the ribbon will stay on long-term with just the ATG gun adhesive. Stitching might have been a better bet.
 
Due to the dark cardstock, I put light colored inserts for signing the card on the inside (not shown). I also stamped my “Handmade by [me]” stamp on lighter cardstock, cut out the circle, and glued that to the back (also not shown). That is a very good option for dark colored cards where the ink will have a hard time standing out.
 
– Stephanie
Leave a Reply

