Nintendo Quilt – Layout Plan and Fabrics


Here is a draft of the layout plan for the Nintendo quilt I’m working on:

I worked up a rough idea for background fabrics using Excel (the pink is the rainbow fabric), then I layered that background with small images of the characters and items I’m planning on using. This step was done in Photoshop. Each of the characters remains its own layer (allowing me artistic freedom to move them around if I want to in the future).

Here are the fabrics that I have selected for use in the quilt:

I might have to get some more of the rainbow and yellow fabrics (or adjust my pattern). The next step is to cut up the background fabrics into squares slightly larger than 6.5″. This little bit of extra fabric will accommodate any pulling that the embroidery might cause.

Here are the completed blocks:

One thought on “Nintendo Quilt – Layout Plan and Fabrics

Leave a Reply

