My New Viking Designer Ruby Royale!


I added a new-to-me (previously loved) Husqvarna Viking Designer Ruby Royale to my collection this past week. I had been dreaming of adding a second machine to my creative workflow for quite some time.  It always seemed that when my Designer Ruby was stitching, I wanted to be doing stitching on another portion of the project. Now that I have two machines, I can do just that!

IMG_3994
Husqvarna Viking Designer Ruby Royale
FullSizeRender 14
Sewing on the Designer Ruby while the Designer Ruby Royale is embroidering! This is happiness. Yes.
DSCF9962.jpg
Designer Ruby (left) and Designer Ruby Royale (right).

At first I was worried about the machine; it was breaking thread left and right! Very frustrating. I kept at it, learning about threading techniques based on the spool orientation, but still had problems. I learned about the thread portioning tension (the deLuxe stitch system) and experimented with that (see the Twisted Tree below), but still had problems with the thread breaking. Slightly troubled, I went to sleep and planned to address the issue the next day. Starting fresh, I decided to put in another new needle. As I removed the old one and inspected it, I discovered that it had a burr in the eye! Indeed, all the problems from the day before were due to a bad needle (which was new). With a fresh and slick needle newly installed, I had no more troubles! Stitched like a dream.

FullSizeRender 15
Twisted Tree on the left was stitched using Ruby Original. The Tree on the right is after I decreased thread portioning tension in Ruby Royale (aka Ruby 2). It ended up bulkier, but looked very nice.
FullSizeRender 21.jpg
With a lower thread portioning tension, the thread didn’t get buried in the fabric, rather it sat on top quite elegantly.
IMG_4043
Miniature Free-standing Lace Christmas Charms — one of the first designs I stitched out with my new Ruby Royale. I am fairly sure that the machine accomplishes 3 stitches before my brain even registers one. No kidding, it’s that fast. Advertisements boasted that it sews 20% faster, and I will confirm that (I stitched a free-standing lace doily that took Ruby Original 5 hours, and Ruby 2 did it in less than 4 hours).

Overall, I’m super pleased with my new embroidery machine. Stitches beautifully, even on super warp speed! Next up, I’ll show some details on the dimensional stitches, a new feature with this machine.

  • Stephanie
One thought on “My New Viking Designer Ruby Royale!

Leave a Reply

