Valentine’s Day Soft Book


I went beyond a card this year. With so many cute designs and great sayings available, I couldn’t resist doing a little soft book for hubby for Valentine’s Day. I’m even 2 weeks ahead of schedule! In case anyone else would like to use the idea…there is still time!! See below for directions.

Basic Directions

  1. Select designs and embroider on ~7″ square pieces of fabric  (I used medium weight cutaway that I left the same size as the blocks). Trim (see below for tips).
    • I cut most down to 6.5″ unfinished blocks. The blocks that I used for the front and back, (4 blocks total) were cut to 7″ so that the cover was a little bigger than the inner pages.
    • It would be possible to use a 12.5″ unfinished block and put 2 designs on it. This would eliminate a bunch of bulk in the center seam.
  2. Layout the pages, placing them so you can preview how the book will flow.
  3. Peeling them in layers, set them aside so that they can be stitched in the middle. This can get pretty confusing, so double- and triple-check!
    • As an example, the “Love” and the “Happy Valentine’s Day” blocks were stitched together as they were the front and the back cover. Then, I stitched the “I love you more than all the stars in the sky” and the “Loved you yesterday…” blocks together.
  4. Stitch the blocks together using a scant 1/4″ seam to make a 12.5″ x 6.5″ unfinished rectangle.
  5. Again, layout the book. For my design, I had 6 rectangles that would need to be sewn together to create the pages.
  6. Once I determined the pairs, I placed them right sides together, and stitched a 1/4″ around the edge, leaving a small gap in the side for turning. Be careful when you place them right sides together…I almost ended up with a couple upside-down pages!
  7. Trim the corners to eliminate some bulk. Turn the fabric and sharpen the points.
  8. Press (use a pressing cloth to protect the embroidery), ensuring that the edges in the gap you left for turning are turned in and even.
  9. Topstitch around each of the pages. Pay attention to the color you choose for your bobbin! For a couple of the pages, I swapped out colors for better coordination.
  10. Bind the book by stacking all the pages, aligning the center seam (definitely an advantage to using the 2 blocks instead of one wide rectangle), and then stitching down the middle. I had some trouble with thread breakage, and my machine needed to “rest,” or so it said. This is why I would recommend doing a wide rectangle.
  11. Close the book, and you’re finished!

~Stephanie

Leave a Reply

