Nintendo Quilt – Mega Mushroom


Need to grow a little? Use a Mega Mushroom!! This guy can help you crush your opponents easily…at least for a little while.

This design closely resembles the Red Mushroom, so there weren’t too many challenging details to consider. But…I had read on another blog somewhere (now I forget where, sorry) about using cutaway stabilizer for the applique pieces. I tried that for this go around, and it seemed to work well. On the test embroidery that I did (not pictured), I used 1 layer of light-weight stabilizer (because I’m running low on the medium weight tear-away) and I experienced more puckering below the center red dot. For this embroidery on green fabric, I used two layers of the light-weight stabilizer and had better success.

As I did in the Red Mushroom, I removed some of the orange blanket stitches from under the red spots in order to improve the coverage of the red.

File Feb 15, 09 52 15

mega mushroom

Other Notes:
– Machine: Designer Ruby Royale
– Stabilizer: 2 layers of tear-away (light weight)
– Needle: 75/11 Embroidery (Inspira)
– Hoop: 120mm x 120mm
– Software: 5D Embroidery Professional (Design Creator & Stitch Editor)
– Stitches: 3,965
– Color changes: 6
– Applique: yes

Leave a Reply

