Nintendo Quilt – Golden Mushroom


The Golden Mushroom is the NOS of Mario Kart. While NOS may cause engine damage, the Golden Mushroom is a little safer. The only damage it might do is cause you to go flying off the course (not that I speak from experience…ahem, Rainbow Road). Definitely advisable to use it on a section that can be taken at high speeds. Just sayin’.

Anyway, enough about my virtual driving skills and on to my embroidery design skills…

This is the first design, and likely only design, for the Nintendo Quilt that utilizes metallic thread. This project gave me a solid test of my Designer Ruby Royale’s deLuxe stitch system, which boasts super results using delicate or metallic thread.  No thread breakage, and it seemed to do a pretty good job!

SLH00238

At first, I stitched the metallic thread straight onto the background. Even though I could bump up the stitch density a notch, I didn’t feel that it would give me the brightest mushroom.  My solution was to include an applique piece of yellow fabric under the mushroom. View the HUGE difference between the two below:

SLH00241

WOW! I even like how it puffs out the mushroom a bit more.

Other Notes:
– Machine: Designer Ruby Royale
– Stabilizer: 2 layers of medium-weight tear-away, fusible cut-away for applique piece
– Needle: 75/11 Embroidery (Inspira)
– Hoop: 120mm x 120mm
– Software: 5D Embroidery Professional (Design Creator & Stitch Editor)
– Stitches: 10,788
– Color changes: 7 (4 colors)
– Applique: yes

2 thoughts on “Nintendo Quilt – Golden Mushroom

Leave a Reply

