SNES Ghosties – Revisited


Finally, some progress on SNES Ghosties!! I designed “SNES Ghosties” four and a half years ago inspired by SNES Ghost Valley 2 as played on Mario Kart Wii. The Nintendo Quilt with all the characters that I’m designing is coming along nicely and I wanted to practice my piecing skills before doing the “real deal.” This was a way to practice and still get something accomplished!!

SLH00248
SNES Ghosties Quilt Top (29.5 x 24.5″)

Not entirely the most attractive colors, but there will be “decorations” and “embellishments” in the form of Ghosties, item boxes and a title. Those aspects haven’t been entirely designed/decided yet. I have the basic concept in mind though.

Here are some shots during planning and construction.

Ryan and I also did some “research.” Yes, I believe that’s what we will call playing video games from now on, especially Mario Kart!

12822952_10153305954416174_1711149039_o

My precision cutting (finally won at the rotary cutting game, yay!!), my walking foot and new Aurofil thread was an absolutely superb combination! This is the first time (if I recall correctly) that I have used my walking foot for piecing. I will be continuing this practice, and I will be ordering more Aurofil thread. 🙂

I used 2″ squares to make the little notches to cut corners in the track (upper left black block as an example). I stitched on the diagonal and then trimmed the seam allowance to 1/4″ and pressed open.

I need to let my decoration ideas for the quilt top marinate a little while, and in the meantime, I plan on making progress on a few more UFOs!

Other Notes:
– Machine: Ruby Original
– Thread: Aurofil 50wt (piecing)
– Needle: Quilting 90 Titanium (Inspira)
– Settings: Stitch #A2 (straight stitch), 2.5mm length, default tension (4.6)- Walking Foot with Piecing Foot (interchangeable)
– Rum: Appleton Estate Rare Blend Aged 12 years

Leave a Reply

