Yoshi Eggs & Premier+ QuiltBlock Wizard


The Yoshi Eggs will decorate the side of Ryan’s lunchbox. In this post, I will share settings and tips from my test of the egg embroidery design and quilt block wizard using Premier+ Ultra.

Icon - create   Icon - encore
I used Premier+ (P+) Create to design the egg, then exported the embroidery for editing in P+ Embroidery Extra (I’ll share what I learned about the “break apart” option in a future post). Using the Encore feature, I repeated the design 3 times, and gave them a pleasing spacing. Once that was complete, I saved the encore embroidery under a separate name for use in the QuiltBlock wizard.

Icon - Quilt Block Wizard
To design the quilting surrounding the eggs, I opened a new P+ Extra window and selected the Quilt Block Wizard. Here are the settings that I used:

Quilt Block Wizard 1
I used the Yoshi Encore design as my embroidery, so I selected the top option from the list.
Quilt Block Wizard 2 - select size
Select the size of the quilt block. For this, I measured the final size of my side panels for the lunchbox, which were 200 mm wide by 160 mm tall.
Yoshi Egg QuiltBlock Wizard shape
This option tab determines the overall shape of the motifs. By checking the “use motifs” box, that allows me to select the exact motif. 
Yoshi Egg QuiltBlock Wizard
Here are the settings for the small circles. The “Gap” spreads the circles out from one another, and connects them with a line. If I wanted to make the circles into ovals, I would adjust the height or width so that they weren’t proportional. I used a running stitch, as I didn’t need bold quilting. 2.0 mm stitch length worked well to capture the circles and not letting them get boxy.
Yoshi Egg Quilting Encore
Life View of the Yoshi Eggs with Quilting

Here are the details of the stitching process:
1. Hoop stabilizer and fabric for embroidery.
2. Embroider the eggs.
3. When ready to quilt, remove the hoop place batting and backing on the BOTTOM of the hoop (I used temporary adhesive to help it stay in place) layered like a quilt (backing with right side facing down, batting in the middle, then the already-hooped stabilizer and top fabric.
4. Change the bobbin thread (important, because you will see this).
5. Re-install the hoop. Fix the fabric by going back and using the “fix” option in the machine (you may have to select the first color that stitches out before the machine will let you “fix.” When that’s complete, select the color associated with the quilting to continue.)
6. Embroider the quilting design.

Detail of the quilting on the finished test project.


The back. I used duck cloth, and since this side won’t be visible in the lunch box (the lining covers it up), I matched my top thread.


Other Notes:
– Machine: Designer Ruby Royale
– Stabilizer: 1 layers of medium-weight tear-away
– Fabric: Quilting cotton for the top, duck cloth for the backing (specifically tested for lunch box)
– Needle: 75/11 Embroidery (Inspira)
– Tension: 45
– Thread: Madeira 40wt rayon (white/green), Aurifil 50wt cotton (blue)
– Hoop: 200mm x 200mm
– Software: Premier+ Ultra Embroidery Extra & Create
– Stitches: 14,712
– Color changes: 3 (3 colors)
– Applique: no

Leave a Reply

