English Paper Piecing


Sometimes a sewing machine is not easy to take on an airplane. Probably most times. After seeing so many pretty hexies on Instagram, I just had to try learning English Paper Piecing as a technique for on-the-go stitching! I started using scraps, but quickly decided that I wanted to start making flowers for a large quilt. Using a charm square pack of Sunprint 2015, I cut each 5″ charm into four 2.5″ squares that would fit around 2″ hexies (each side is 1″ and point to point is 2″). I used my Cricut to cut out the hexagons from cardstock.

This will be a long-term project that I work on as I travel and otherwise don’t have a sewing machine handy. I look forward to it!

img_6420
My first flower for the flower garden quilt.

Here are my hexies waiting to be assembled into flowers.

img_6421
I used Alison Glass collection “Sunprint 2015” for this first batch. I have a jelly roll of “Sunprint 2016” to continue the theme and coordinate.
img_6422
Using my new ElectricQuilt 7 software, I have a morphing plan for my flower garden quilt. Using swatches of the actual fabric, I can insert them into the layout for a realistic view! For this quilt, I plan on doing flower surrounded by grey and then “sashed” with white. The grey is “Zen” of Bella Solids by Moda.

 

2 thoughts on “English Paper Piecing

Leave a Reply

