Works in Progress: Quilting


I have 14 quilting projects in progress or planned. I did not think I had that many, until I dug them out and organized them. Don’t get me wrong, this does not pressure me. I enjoy working on different projects because they are likely in different stages in the creative progress; it gives me something for every mood.

I bought several mesh bags that measure 15 x 18″, which are perfect for keeping quilt tops, border fabrics, patterns and backings together. As I sorted my Works in Progress (WIPs), I made lists and ordered supplies to ensure that I have everything to complete them. Since I ordered thread specifically for quilting, I threw the spools of thread in the bags as well.

stack-of-works-in-progress

The bags fit perfectly on a metal and glass TV stand. The top shelf has my Nespresso machine…mini coffee station for my crafty room! Yay!

This organization goes hand-in-hand with the tracking spreadsheet I created. In the spreadsheet, I track a variety of items: priority, finished size of project, current stage in the crafty process (screenshot below), cost, fabric needed, threads, and time spent by category. It’s fairly massive, but it’s a nerdy crafty girl’s dream sheet.

status-tracker-example
Status chart in the Quilting Tracker. Green is complete, Yellow is in progress, White is not started, and Grey is not applicable.

This stack will have constant flux; as projects are completed, new ones will be added to the pile. I am perfectly fine with that concept.

~ Stephanie

5 thoughts on “Works in Progress: Quilting

    1. craftyninja says:

      Thanks, BabyBonda! So far it is working well. It keeps the projects in plain sight and ready to go if I need something different to tackle. I really love the spreadsheet. I think it will help keep me honest on how much time, money and materials I invest in this hobby. Besides, coloring cells “Green” is hugely satisfying.🙂

  1. visit website says:

    You are so interesting! I don’t believe I have read through something
    like that before. So good to discover somebody with genuine thoughts on this subject.
    Really.. thank you for starting this up. This web site is something that’s needed on the web, someone with a bit of originality!

Leave a Reply

