Hedgehog Handbag


This hedgehog handbag is absolutely adorable! The Blue Barn Batik fabric coordinates so well with blue jeans, making this Quattro bag an awesome accessory!

image1

Pattern is “the Quattro” by Studio Kat Designs and can be found here. The pattern was perfect. It was logical, concise and clear, which made the construction pretty easy.Ā  All the notches and all the pieces fit together so well that it was worth it; the result is professional. I added a hedgehog zipper pull to amplify the cuteness. I purchased the embroidery file for the front at Embroidery Library, and the zipper pull from DesignsByLittleBee at Etsy here.

image3
Plethora of pieces for the Quattro handbag.

Here are a few of my notes:

  1. I definitely recommend the separating zipper. I thought I could get by with a purse zipper, but the zipper really needs to separate at the top end for this design. I found a metal zipper and then shortened it to the length specified in the pattern.
  2. Measure the webbing for the handle before buying. The webbing I had originally purchased was too wide.
  3. Purchase extra yardage if the print is directional. It makes it less finicky to make the pieces fit.
  4. It took me 3 hours to cut all the pieces. Ugh! Scissors with a sharp point is a must to get those notches cut. After fighting with my bulky Fiskars, I bought some Karen Kay Buckley scissors for future bags. The medium one has already had extensive use for my Happy Birds Quilt, but I also have a large version, too.

 

I can’t wait to make another one of these bags! I might have to complete a few more of the projects on my WIP list, though. šŸ˜‰

Materials that I used:
– Fabric: Blue Barn Batik & Bluebird Park (hedgehogs)
– Thread: Madeira Rayon (embroidery), Gutterman sew-all (sewing)
– Interfacing: Shapeflex SF101 & Fusible fleece
– 24″ Metal Zipper from Hobby Lobby cut to 16″.
– 9″ nylon zipper
– 1 1/4″ D-rings from Joann’s
– 1″ cotton webbing from Hobby Lobby

I used my Husqvarna Viking Designer Ruby for the construction of the bag. I used my Designer Epic for the embroidery.

~ Stephanie

4 thoughts on “Hedgehog Handbag

Leave a Reply

