Hand Applique: Happy Birds Quilt


Last weekend I learned how to hand applique, which includes the prepping and the stitching. This was exactly what I needed to let the birds out of their cage, my Happy Birds for my Happy Birds Quilt, that is!

happy-birds-progress-25-jan-17-2

Here was my learning and practice piece that was part of the class.

During the Sit and Sew in the afternoon, I started cutting and prepping the leaves for the center medallion of the Happy Birds quilt. Over the past week, I’ve gotten many more pieces prepped, and a few stitched. Glue basting is pretty awesome and the stitching is quite relaxing. I love seeing my plan come together!

Leave a Reply

